Moving Forward, Writing On…

Here we are, four days away from closing out another year! What a year it’s been, both personally and in my writing journey. I now have a high schooler, whose involvement in music and sports has made our calendar crazy busy! (But I’ll admit I love it!) On the down side, we were in a car accident which messed me up a bit, though it forced me to look at life differently. When you realize how quickly life can be taken away, your priorities quickly change.

2015 was my first full year as a published author. I found myself more active on my author Facebook account than on my personal account. I guess when you find others who understand and share your passion, it’s natural to gravitate towards those friends and acquaintances. Even though I haven’t personally met most of these people, I truly value the friendships I’ve made.

The downside of being on Facebook is the pressure it creates in me to keep up with the other authors. We’re all on our own journeys and nobody writes at the same pace. However, I’m one of the slowest indie writers, and until I can change my pace, I will not catch up to my friends.  I have to be okay with that for now, but it’s not easy, knowing realistically that I won’t reach a certain level until I can write more than one book a year. And I’ve made mistakes in my journey; decisions I can’t reverse. I’ve spent too much money on marketing that didn’t do a thing for my sales.

These frustrations have been addressed in previous posts, and I could fill another page with my disappointments.  But I’m not going to do that. Over the past few months, ever since the release of my second book, I’ve had many conversations with my author friends about this gig. One point kept being made over and over – move forward and write your next book!

I think I’m ready to do that: get back to the joy of creating a story with my favorite characters; fall in love with the words again. I’ll still continue to promote my first two books, but my focus needs to be on writing the next book.  I’m sure there’s a handful of readers out there who’ll appreciate that!

As for me, I appreciate all of you who take the time to read and like my blog posts! Starting next year, I’ll be doing a weekly series of posts about my favorite things. I’m looking forward to writing these posts!

Hope you all have a happy New Year!

~Anne

P.S. If you’re a fan of the 80s and you like sweet rock star romance, check out my books:

Never Let Go (Faithfully Yours #1): http://amzn.to/1WXfmVR

~I couldn’t wait until the next time I could be with him. He was like sunlight glistening on fallen snow; like a full moon lighting up a bleak October sky; like the bright opening at the end of a dark tunnel. He was my hero, in so many ways. And I was falling in love with him.~

Never Fall (Faithfully Yours #2): http://amzn.to/1WXeqRm

~Lying there, I studied his face, which looked at peace now. I gently traced my fingertip along his forehead, down his cheeks, and across his chin, thinking there was nothing I wouldn’t do for this man. We’d been through so much together. He’d been my hero, my protector, but now I felt a need to protect him.~

